“One of the reasons behind citing sources and compiling a general bibliography is so that you can prove you have done some valid research to back up your argument and claims. Readers can refer to a citation in your bibliography and then go look up the material themselves. When inspired by your text or your argument, interested researchers can access your resources. They may wish to double check a claim or interpretation you’ve made, or they may simply wish to continue researching according to their interests. But think about it: even though a bibliography provides a list of research sources of all types that includes publishing information, how much does that really tell a researcher or reader about the sources themselves?”
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, The Writing Center. “Annotated Bibliographies.” https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/annotated-bibliographies/
An annotated bibliography is a bibliography (so, a list of all of the sources you have used to do this project) with an “annotation” following each entry. The annotation is a brief summary of the source and an assessment of its value to your project. It should be no more than a short paragraph in length. The content of the annotation should include:
1 sentence description of the source type and what the source is about;
1 sentence about the author’s central argument;
1-2 sentences about the evidence the author uses, if relevant and possible;
1-2 sentence description of who the author is and his/her credentials; and
2 sentences about the value and limitations of the source for your project; how will it help you answer your research question?
List alphabetically by author or title
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, The Writing Center. “Annotated Bibliographies.” https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/annotated-bibliographies.
|
Preston, Julia. “Immigrants Closely Tied to Military Get Reprieve.” The New York Times. November 15, 2013. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/16/ us/immigrants-closely-tied-to-military-get-reprieve.html? src=recg&_r=0. Accessed November 30, 2013. |
Include source citation in Chicago bibliography format, not footnote format |
| Julia Preston’s article describes a recent change in US immigration policy that grants“parole in place” to the families of veterans and soldiers currently serving in the armed forces or military reserve. |
First sentence describes what kind of source and what it is about |
| She argues that undocumented spouses, children or parents of active duty personnel will no longer be deported and are eligible to apply for legal residency in the United States. |
Presents the source’s central argument (if there is one) |
| For her evidence, Ms. Preston sought quotations from pro-immigrant advocacy groups. | Presents the source’s evidence (look in footnotes, indexes, bibliographies to help you) |
| Julia Preston has been reporting on immigration for The New York Times since 2006, having come from The Washington Post in 1995. Preston holds both the Pulitzer Prize and the Robert F. Kennedy Award for Humanitarian Journalism. |
Presents the author’s qualifications to write about the subject |
| Clearly, Preston’s reporting on this issue is strongly colored by the objectives of the organization doing the reporting, which is a limitation of this source. | Presents the limitations of the source |
|
Though the article reports the change in policy neutrally and provides a link to the memorandum itself, all of the organizations quoted support the administration’s shift. The article, nevertheless, will help me answer my research question of how new immigration policies impact families because it gave me an introduction to the administration’s new policy. |
Presents the value of the source |